The Super 8 Cyclocross Series rolls on this Sunday with Winchester Apple Cross. The fourth year race is the first time in 2012 for the series leaders to show off the all new VergeSport Super 8 points jerseys.

In the men’s elite field, U.S. National Champion Jeremy Powers currently holds the jersey. Chances are JPow will not be at Winchester to defend his lead. This leaves the door open for the SEAVS/Haymarket Bicycles trio of Jared Nieters, Wes Schempf and Ryan Dewald to stake their claim. However, (almost) local guy Jeremiah Bishop (Cannondale Factory Team) is rumored to be on hand to try and derail the Haymarket train. Other (almost) local guy Ben Frederick (Kelly Benefit Strategies/LSV) will also be at Winchester to get his hands back on the jersey he held for much of 2011. Two other local guys should also really be there. We’re looking at you Joe Dombrowski and Ben King.

Laura Murray (Race Pace/Trek MTB Team) will don the VergeSport leader jersey for her first defense of the points title against a growing field of elite women contenders. However, many of the top women in the series have yet to show their cards and register for Sunday’s race. We’re looking at you, too!

In the masters 35+ 1/2/3 race, Dave Weaver (ALAN) will go from the gun and dare Paul Rades (November Bicycle), Raul Rojas (DCMTB), Ron Huebner (Evolution) and Chris Harshman (Sportif Coaching) to take his leader jersey away from him.

In the 45+ race, the host club Winchester Wheelmen will send Jerzy Wozniak out to defend his 2011 domination of the field. Andrew Shaw (NCVC), Cory Smith (Sportif Coaching), Scott Stahl (SEAVS/Haymarket) and Marc Gwadz (DCMTB) will try and wrest the title from Jerzy’s grip.

The 55+ race will most likely be up for grabs with Dennis Smith (Bike Line) not racing. David Wolfel (Route1Velo/Arrow Bicycle) sits in second with perennial favorite Fred Wittwer (Charlottesville Racing Club) also in the mix.

Chris Rabadi (Crosshairs Cycling p/b Spy Optic) sits atop the men’s 3/4 field with teammate Russ Berryman in third. Dan Wolf (Race Pace/Trek MTB Team), the Adventures for the Cure duo of Greg Saylor and Auggie Pitt, and Matthew Latyszonek (NCVC) are all in the mix for top honors.

In the Masters 3/4 35+ field, John McGreevey (Crosshairs Cycling p/b Spy Optic) leads the pack with Jeff Chun (Bike Doctor p/b DigiSource), David Kirkpatrick (November Bicycles) and Matt Cooper (AFC) right on his heels.

The Masters 3/4 45+ field is led by Eric Schmitt (Cycle-Smart). George Schulz (The Bike Lane), Douglas Galbi (Squadra Coppi), Mark Stahl (SEAVS/Haymarket Bicycle) and Dave Tambeaux (Crosshairs Cycling p/b Spy Optic) are close behind.

Sean “I love to race so I register twice” O’Donnell (Crosshairs Cycling p/b Spy Optic) will sport the VergeSport leader jersey in the single-speed race. Luke Swift (NCVC), and the REVEL racing duo of Tony Barsi  and Mike Esmonde will chase him down with really, really high RPMs.

The juniors! Tanner Browne (Bike Doctor p/b DigiSource) leads the 15-18 open, Emma Montgomery is tops in the junior women 15-18, Adam Croft rules the junior men 10-14, and Mason Hopkins (ALAN) reigns supreme in the junior women 10-14.

This Sunday’s Super 8 race is going to be off the charts. Every pro bike racer in western Virginia has been put on notice. Come race your race and then cheer on the rest. Winchester Apple Cross on-line registration closes tonight at 8pm:–2-in-the-BikeRegcom-Super-8.

The Super 8 uses for its series standings: